About us

Welcome to the home page of the Mathematics Graduate Student Organization (MGSO) at Texas A&M University in College Station. The purpose of this organization is to encourage communication among students, faculty, and staff, and contribute to a rich social life in the department through cultural and scientific dialogue. We would also like to provide an environment where students in the mathematics department can practice their presentation skills as well as view the techniques of others. It is our goal to be a source of support and information for all graduate students.

The main activity of the MGSO is the Graduate Student Seminar. This seminar is for grad students, (largely) by grad students: Volunteer to give a talk!

Seminar: Spring 2014, Thursdays, Blocker 113, 4:00-4:50 PM

Next Talk

Speaker:   Dr. Mustafa Benli  

Title:   The space of finitely generated groups

Time / Date:   4:00 - 5:00 , April 17


A marked groups is a pair (G,S) where G is a group and S is a finite set of generators of G. The space of such pairs (up to a certain equivalence) has a natural topology making it a Polish space. In this talk, I will introduce this space and will summarize known and unknown properties of it. I will also demonstrate how one can use this space to prove some group theoretic properties of certain groups.